You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Beginner’s Guide to Seven Mortal Sins X-TASY

April 26, 2022

Seven Mortal Sins X-TASY is a gacha-RPG. You know what that means: a huge, story-driven gameplay loop in which you fight, earn rewards, upgrade your units, and fight again.

As with any gacha-RPG worth its salt, Seven Mortal Sins X-TASY boasts a rich economy of upgrade paths and currencies. On top of that it adds a few little tricks of its own, giving you more opportunities for tactical experimentation – and more details to get your head around.

This beginners’ guide will take you through the basics, allowing you to take your first steps through the vibrant world of Seven Mortal Sins X-TASY with confidence.

On the Battlefield

On the Battlefield

There are several modes in Seven Mortal Sins X-TASY. There’s the main story campaign, Kizuna Quests, Daily Dungeons, Limited Events. Then there are the various multiplayer Arena modes, like Monster Brawl, Grand Colosseum, and Limbus Arena.

They’re all different, but they all involve the same turn-based combat. Here’s how that works.

Your units – or Casts – are arrayed across the left side of the screen, your opponents on the right. Each Cast has a red HP bar and a blue Move bar.

There are three kinds of attack available to you: basic attack, power attack, and special attack. Your special only becomes available after a certain number of moves, so you need to use it wisely.

To attack a target, all you need to do is select the kind of attack you want to do and then tap on your chosen victim. The fight is over when either all of your Casts are dead, or all of your opponent’s are.

It’s worth mentioning at this point that you don’t have to – and probably won’t – play all of your battles manually. There’s an auto button, which lets the AI take over.

The best way to ensure that you keep winning in Seven Mortal Sins X-TASY is to plough all of the rewards you earn into leveling up your Casts and summoning new ones. The next best way is to ensure that you’re using an effective formation.

By visiting the Formation page you can choose which Casts are in your squad. You’ll want to make sure that there’s a Support Cast in the mix, to heal the rest of your team when they’re in trouble, as well as a healthy balance of attacking and defensive units.

In addition to the normal squad-formation stuff, there’s an elemental rock-paper-scissors system to factor into your calculations.

Casts can have STR, TEC, or AGI affinities, with STR trumping TEC, TEC trumping AGI, and AGI trumping STR. That means a STR Cast will deal extra damage to TEC Cast, and a TEC Cast will deal weaker damage to a STR Cast. Elemental affinities also affect the likelihood of causing or evading skill effects.

There are different types of skill effects. The outcome of common chance effects depend on outside factors like Effect Hit, Effect Res, and elemental advantage. Fixed chance effects, on the other hand, have odds that are pre-determined and never change.

As well as attacks and skill effects you can inflict debuffs during battle. These include Daze, Freeze, Stun, and so on.

Last but not least is the Helper system. This allows you to set a Cast as a helper, available in the heat of battle to take some of the pressure off. If there are fewer than four Casts in your squad, your helper automatically fills the vacant slot.

Off the Battlefield

Off the Battlefield

When you’re not kicking ass in Seven Mortal Sins X-TASY, you’re plowing the spoils of war into upgrading your Casts and summoning new Casts into the fold.

There are several different ways to upgrade your Casts and skills. They include training, ranking up, skilling up, and transcending.

Training a Cast requires two resources: Coins and Trainers. Coins are coins, but Trainers come in several different levels of rarity. The rarer they are, the more XP they provide without costing any additional Coins.

Ranking up your Casts involves spending Evolution Gems. The highest rank a Cast can reach is 6*. Once you reach that milestone, you can go to the next level by transcending. This will cost you other Casts or Transcend Materials.

Skilling up involves consuming Grimoires/Bunrei and other Casts. As you upgrade a skill you unlock special moves.

And there’s more. It’s possible for Casts to inherit skill levels from other Casts. The donor becomes the Mentor, and the recipient becomes the Apprentice. After the process is complete, the Apprentice has a higher skill level and the Mentor has a lower one.

Inheriting skills involves consuming two Casts at the same rarity and above skill level 2, as well as spending Diamonds or Inherit Gems.

Seven Mortal Sins X-TASY also features a Karma system. You obtain Karma by making dialogue choices during story sections. The more you collect, the greater your rewards for victory.

The game’s various currencies come through combat and general rewards, but to obtain new Casts you’ll need to summon. Summoning costs Diamonds or Summon Scrolls, depending on the type.

There’s a lot more to discover in Seven Mortal Sins X-TASY, including a guild system that gives you access to a weekly challenge to see who can deliver the most pain.

But this beginner’s guide should give you plenty to go on as you embark on your journey through Seven Mortal Sins X-TASY’s vibrant manga-inspired world.

You can download Seven Mortal Sins X-TASY on iOS and Android by clicking here.